28 August 2009

The State Government has announced the NSW Local Government Grants Commission’s financial assistance grants to Lismore City, Kyogle, Tenterfield and Tweed Shire Council in the Lismore Electorate said The Nationals Member for Lismore, Thomas George.

The grants have been determined in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (Financial Assistance) Act 1995.

Mr George said the grants consist of two identified components. There is a general component and a local road component.

“Local roads are the most common type of road in Local Government areas and are owned by the local council. Local roads are the roads within the towns and villages of the council area.

“However, the total grant is a general purpose grant with no conditions attached to the expenditure of the funds. That means it is up to council to work out which local roads will be upgraded”, said Mr George.

The funds received for Councils in the Lismore Electorate are:

General Purpose Component Local Roads Component Total
Lismore City Council $4.474 million $1.623 million $6.098 million
Tweed Shire Council $6.134 million $2.200 million $8.334 million
Tenterfield Shire Council $2.173 million $1.325 million $3.499 million
Kyogle Shire Council $2.099 million $1.326 million $3.425 million

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.