Nominations for the NSW Farmers 2010 Farmer of the Year and Young Farmer of the Year are now open, the Nationals Member for Lismore Thomas George said.

Mr George is urging residents from within the Lismore electorate to nominate a worthy recipient for either award, which highlight the on-going efforts of landholders and farmers.

“This is a great award and there are many individuals across the electorate who would certainly be deemed worthy nominees.

“It doesn’t matter whether you prefer the term landholder or farmer, this award is about highlighting the difficulties of living on the land such as adapting to change and managing and developing innovative solutions to difficult problems.

“The courage I have seen displayed through the past decade of drought, industry change and flooding is absolutely what this award is about.”

Mr George said the awards also recognise agricultural excellence, profitability and sustainability, financial management and community leadership.

“It is important that those who have managed to keep their heads above the water and keep their businesses afloat are recognised and nominated for this NSW Farmers Association Award.”

Mr George said the successful 2010 Farmer Of The Year will receive $10 000 and the Young Farmer Of The Year will be awarded $5 000.

“Nominations are now open until Thursday 10 June 2010 with application forms available from or at

“Applications can be posted to the NSW Farmer’s Association or emailed to with winners announced at the NSW Farmer’s Association Annual Conference gala dinner in July 2010.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.