6 May 2011

Nationals Member for Lismore Thomas George today encouraged the electorate of Lismore to nominate someone worthy for the 2011 Volunteer of the Year Awards.

“The NSW Volunteer of the Year Award recognises the volunteers across NSW, and I encourage people across the State to nominate volunteers that make a difference in their community for the 2011 Volunteer of the Year Awards," Mr George said.

In addition the O’Farrell Government has provided a one-off funding boost of $12,000 for a special award marking the 10th anniversary of the United Nation’s International Year of the Volunteer (IYV+10).

Citizenship and Communities Minister Victor Dominello will officially open nominations for the Awards on Monday to mark the start of National Volunteer Week which runs from May 9 - 15.

“I am delighted that this year $27,000 in NSW Government funding has been provided for the annual awards run by the Centre for Volunteering,” Mr Dominello said.

“I congratulate the Centre for Volunteering for its ongoing commitment to recognising volunteers and promoting their efforts through this important awards program.

“In addition to to the main category of Volunteer of the Year, special awards are made for Youth, Senior, Corporate and Team Volunteers of the Year and this year there is a one-off category for the IYV+10 Award for Volunteer Management. This award will help highlight a sometimes under-acknowledged, but vitally important aspect of volunteering," Mr George said.

Nominations close on 30 August. Regional awards will be presented at local ceremonies in October and November and winners comprise the finalists from which overall State winners are selected. State-wide winners will be named at a ceremony close to the United Nations’ declared International Volunteer Day on December 5, 2011.

For further information visit the Centre for Volunteering’s website at www.volunteering.com.au

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.