Lismore MP Thomas George and Ballina MP Don Page today congratulated two local teachers on their receipt of 2012 Premier’s Teacher Scholarships for their commitment to quality education.

Byron Bay High School teacher Kristy Barnett received the Premier’s First State Super Financial Literacy Scholarship, for a teacher in financial literacy or related fields.

Catherine Graham-Smith, a teacher at St John’s College, Woodlawn was the recipient of one of four Premier’s Xstrata Coal Rural and Remote Education Scholarships, to be used to study any aspect of professional development relevant to rural and remote education. This scholarship was open to teachers currently working in rural and remote schools or TAFE NSW institutes in the Muswellbrook or Bathurst School Education Areas, non-metropolitan NSW, or distance education, schools or centres located in metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas, but supporting students in the above areas.

They are among 25 teachers from a diverse range of schools from all parts of the State who received the Scholarships. They will each receive $15,000 to further their professional development through an international study tour.

“Kristy and Catherine will use the scholarships to visit some of the world’s best schools and centres of education,” Mr George said.

“They will return to their classrooms professionally inspired and re-invigorated, ready to share new knowledge, teaching methods and skills.”

“Most of us can recall the special teachers we had when we were in school – those who sparked our imagination and inspired us with their enthusiasm and passion,” Mr Page said.

“I congratulate Kristy and Catherine for having their work recognised in this way and their commitment to education in our region.”

“The scholarship program is about making our best teachers world experts in education,” Premier Barry O’Farrell said.

“We already have some of the best teachers in the world in NSW – this is about helping them become even better.

All NSW teachers from government and non-government schools and TAFE NSW Institutes were eligible to apply for the scholarships. The 2012 program saw 304 teachers apply for the 25 scholarships awarded across 20 program areas. A full list of all the scholarship winners follows.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.