Nationals Member for Lismore Thomas George has called for nominations for the 2013 YMCA NSW Youth Parliament, a highly prestigious annual forum for young people to learn about advocacy, parliamentary and legal processes and leadership.

Mr George encouraged any young person from the Lismore electorate who is passionate about the community, has great ideas to solve local problems and wanted to be a Youth Parliamentarian to nominate.

“Youth Parliament is one of the longest-running and most successful YMCA youth programs in Australia, with 2013 marking the 12th anniversary of Youth Parliament,” Mr George said.

“Nominations are open for 15 to 18-year-olds who are passionate about youth issues, politics and/or social change.

“Youth Parliament is also a great opportunity for you to develop skills in leadership, public speaking, debating and teamwork.

“If you are passionate about making change in New South Wales, you will be the voice of young people in your electorate, advising New South Wales politicians and decision-makers on matters affecting young people," Mr George said.

Nominations for the Youth Parliament are open until 12 November 2012.

“The program involves a 3-day training camp in April, ongoing work on Youth Parliament activities and a weeklong Residential Camp in the July School Holidays which will see Youth Parliamentarians take over NSW Parliament House and debate the issues they are passionate about.

“This is your opportunity to have your voice heard and represent the young people of the Northern Rivers, I encourage you to get involved.

"I have been associated with Youth Parliament since being elected and very year it is great to see the wonderful ambassadors which have represented our area with distinction," Mr George said.

More information about the program can be found at: or contact my office on 66213624

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.