Nationals Member for Lismore Thomas George is encouraging his local community to nominate women for the 2013 NSW Women of the Year Awards.

Mr George said there are three categories that are open for nominations from the public:

  1. The Premier’s Woman of the Year Award, for leadership and excellence
  2. The People’s Choice Community Hero Award, for work performed in the service of the community and
  3. A new award category, the Male Champion of Change sponsored by Deloitte (open only to men).

“The opportunity to nominate women from within the local community allows us to recognise the important work being done by women in our patch,” Mr George said.

“This year there is also a new category, the Male Champion of Change award which recognises the role that men play in brokering change for women.

“If you know a woman or man who you think should be recognised for their leadership and contribution, please make a nomination,” he said

Mr George said nominations for these three award categories are invited from individuals, groups or organisations from across the community.

“As the local Member I will be nominating a woman from our community for a separate award category, the Local Woman of the Year Award.

“This person will receive an invitation to attend the awards ceremony at Parliament House with the Premier and will be featured in the 2013 Women of the Year Honour Roll.

"I welcome nominations from the community, with so many local people worthy of such an award, the choice will be a difficult one."

The winners in all four award categories will be announced at a reception hosted by the NSW Premier on Thursday 7 March 2013 at Parliament House, on the eve of International Women’s Day.

Nominations for the Local Woman of the Year can be sent to my office either via email or post to PO Box 52, Lismore by Friday 30 November.

Public nominations for the other categories can be made now at and close on Wednesday 5 December 2012.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.