Nationals Member for Lismore Thomas George today announced flashing lights will be installed at Eltham Public School to increase school zone pedestrian safety.

“The new lights are part of the next round of installations announced last August,” Mr George said.

“Flashing lights slow motorists down around schools and warn them they are approaching a school – this is great news for Eltham.

“The lights will be installed on Boatharbour Road and will operate automatically between 8am and 9.30am and 2.30pm and 4pm on school days during term time,” Mr George said.

The lights operate automatically when school zone speed limits are in force and increase motorists’ awareness of school zones.

Flashing lights are linked to a central computer system which operates lights across the state.

The lights use LED (light-emitting diode) technology which provides brighter light and is more energy efficient.

Trials of flashing lights have found flashing lights helped to slow motorists by an average of seven kilometres an hour when they enter a school zone.

The NSW Government has committed $17 million to deliver flashing lights to an additional 700 school zones across four years.

At the end of the current roll-out in June 2013 Government funded flashing lights would have been installed in 1,051 school zones covering more than 1,182 schools across NSW.

This is more than a third of all the schools in NSW.

The full list of installed sites is available on the Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) website, and is regularly updated.

Flashing lights are one component of the NSW Government’s school road safety program.

Other measures include marked foot crossings, dragon’s teeth markings, traffic lights, pedestrian refuges and an extensive school road safety education program.

RMS will contact local residents and schools affected by the installation of the lights.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.