Nationals Member for Lismore, Thomas George has congratulated local recipients of the NSW Government’s Early Childhood Teaching Scholarships.

Mr George said the scholarships are supporting local Diploma-qualified early childhood educators to become tertiary qualified early childhood teachers.

“The scholarships will provide three recipients from the electorate with up to $10,000 each to support their study costs,” Mr George said.

“These students have demonstrated a dedication and aptitude for Early Childhood Education and have chosen to obtain higher qualifications.

Mr George said the local recipients of the Early Childhood Teaching Scholarships were:

Jane Isenhood
Cathie Pickford
Maurita Cavanough

“This round of scholarships provides a pathway for experienced educators working in these areas and in disadvantaged communities to become early childhood teachers,” Mr George said.

“Children in their early years need access to quality early childhood education, delivered by qualified early childhood teachers.

“Seventy scholarships have been awarded across the State and 50 of these have been allocated to educators in rural and regional NSW.

“The scholarships are in line with the Government’s focus on closing the education gap in regional and rural NSW.”

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.