Nationals Member for Lismore Thomas George today announced the NSW Government would award a $1,000 prize to the winner of the first ever Plan Shapers competition, which is a fun way for high school students to learn how town planning can help shape local communities.

Mr George said the Plan Shapers competition is a new interactive program that aims to teach high school students about planning by asking participants to redesign a local park.

“The competition kicks off in Term 4 and asks students to explore our neighbourhoods, find parks that may need improving and work on a plan that takes into consideration the surrounding area,” Mr George said.

“To enter the competition, students in years 7 and 8 will redesign a park with practical, workable changes based on research.

“Students will be asked to demonstrate their ideas with photos, models and sketches – hopefully inspiring the next generation of planners.”

The Plan Shapers competition gives young minds the chance to demonstrate their creativity, while being encouraged to learn about their neighbourhoods and better understand the work of planners.

Mr George said local high schools that enter the competition will be in the running for some great prizes including gift vouchers for students and $1000 for the school with the winning entry. “All entries will be assessed on the quality of students’ research and analysis, how they have considered the values of their school and local community in the redesign and how innovative their approach is,” Mr George said.

“I encourage our local high schools to get involved and look forward to seeing some great entries.”

Schools must register their interest in the competition by Friday 17 October 2014 and final student entries must be submitted by Friday 14 November 2014.

For full competition details visit the Plan Shapers website

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.