Member for Lismore Thomas George MP today welcomed the announcement that Lismore, Kyogle, Tenterfield, Ballina & Byron will receive natural disaster assistance after storms and floods wreaked havoc across the North Coast from 30 April to 2 May 2015.

The funding was announced by Commonwealth Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and NSW Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott.

The assistance will be jointly-funded through the Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA) and will include;

The Commonwealth and NSW governments are committed to working together to assist affected communities so that they can recover from this severe storm and flood event as soon as possible

The assistance will support storm affected communities on the North Coast and help with the clean-up process.

Information on disaster assistance available for this natural disaster can be found on the NSW Ministry for Police and Emergency services website at www.mpes.nsw.gov.au/nddassistance, or the Australian Government's Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.