Minister responsible for volunteering John Ajaka and Member for Lismore launched the 2016 Student Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program.

The Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program has the potential to recognise the more than two million volunteers in NSW. The Program has two recognition streams, youth and adult, and different levels of recognition for time spent volunteering.

Mr George said the NSW Government acknowledged the immense benefits of volunteering, and how vital it is to support volunteering across the State.

“Volunteers do so much to make our local community stronger. Whether it is lending a hand at weekend sport, serving in the RFS or SES or helping families in need, they deserve our thanks and recognition,” Mr George said.

Students are able to log their volunteering achievements on the Up2Now website, which also allows students to tailor resumes to demonstrate their experiences to prospective employers and in other applications, such as for university courses.

“Students who participate in this program are eligible for certificates to recognise their volunteering which can help build a comprehensive resume when seeking employment” he said.

All students who log their volunteering time requirements will receive a Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program certificate at the end of 2016.

“The NSW Government is determined to better support, recognise and encourage volunteering across the State,” Mr Ajaka said.

In 2015 more than 5,000 students from participating schools received Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program certificates for their achievements.

All NSW school principals are invited to register their school at the Up2Now website to enable students to record their volunteering.

More information on the Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program for students can be found via the Shape Your Future NSW Facebook page, and the NSW Volunteering website

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.