Member for Lismore Thomas George MP today announced North Coast Regional Landcare Network Inc are among 62 organisations that will host local coordinators as part of the NSW Government’s $15 million Local Landcare Coordinator Initiative.

Coordinators have been appointed by North Coast Regional Landcare Network Inc to support the thousands of volunteers in the Landcare networks.

Mr George said the following coordinators will be based throughout the electorate

Tweed Landcare – Amalia Phalow
Brunswick Valley Landcare – Alison Ratcliffe
Border Ranges Richmond Valley Landcare - Emma Stone
Richmond Landcare – Hannah Rice-Hayes & Lyn Thomson
Upper Clarence Landcare - Tanya Jobling

Bob Jarman, President of the North Coast Regional Landcare Network said this additional support is a significant achievement for not only the Landcare community, but the community at large.

“We congratulate the NSW State Government for delivering on its promise to support Landcare.”

“The North Coast has well established, strong and resilient Landcare networks embedded within the community and working in a strong partnership with North Coast Local Land Services” Mr Jarman said.

“A diverse range of not-for-profit organisations will deliver support to the hard-working Landcare volunteers in the electorate and in local communities across NSW.

“The appointment of coordinators signals the successful fulfilment of stage one of the initiative, that has been designed to build capacity and connections within local communities and increase the effectiveness of the Landcare network.”

The coordinators met in Newcastle recently for an induction program that signals the development of a community of practice to bring together, ideas, innovation and training concepts across the state.

“This initiative has been designed to develop a stronger network of Landcare and community groups and to find a sustainable model to ensure Landcare’s future viability,” Mr George said.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.