Member for Lismore Thomas George announced $254,000 in NSW Government funding for the Urbenville Hall to upgrade to the required standard for emergency relief in time of flood.

Mr George said he was thrilled the community was a winner in the ClubGRANTS Category 3 funding round established to invest in emergency relief infrastructure.

“Emergencies strike unpredictably and funding to support community efforts to prepare for the worst is very welcome,” Mr George said.

“This grant will go towards upgrades to accessible toilets, a solar power system, generator and replacement of the air conditioner.

“This injection of money will support our emergency personnel and volunteers as we head into warmer weather,” Mr George.

The NSW Government’s 2016/17 ClubGRANTS program for emergency relief infrastructure funds projects that help protect local communities during emergencies such as bushfires, storms and floods.

Minister for Justice Troy Grant said the program helps improve emergency readiness and responsiveness.

“The NSW Government is committed to upgrading local emergency facilities to keep communities safe during times of need,” Mr Grant said.

“This investment means the local community is better prepared to respond to emergencies and disasters.”

Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott said the grants provided to not-for-profit organisations will made a difference to the community.

“These projects will ensure the best possible preparation for our emergency service workers in their brave work protecting lives and property,” Mr Elliott said.

Over this term of government, around $50 million in ClubGRANTS is being provided to local communities in NSW to support infrastructure across three categories: sport and recreation, arts and culture and emergency relief facilities.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.