Students from disadvantaged families in are being urged to apply for new scholarships worth $1,000 to support their education.

Nationals MP Thomas George said the FACS High School Scholarship program is open now to students in Year 10, 11 and 12 at a NSW high school or TAFE college.

“This is a wonderful initiative from the NSW Government to help students from struggling families get all the support they need to do well at school.

“Funds can be spent on expenses including textbooks and course fees, or practical supports such as child care and internet access,” Mr George said.

The program will award 240 applicants $1,000 to help with their studies. Twenty successful students will also be eligible to receive both a scholarship and mentoring.

“Previously this scheme was only available to HSC students living in social housing but we are expanding it,” Mr George said.

“Now students in social housing or on the waiting list, in Out of Home Care, receiving private rental assistance, or living in crisis accommodation, can apply.”

Mr George said another key benefit of the program is the chance for students to reapply each year, all the way through to the end of their tertiary studies.

“These scholarship had been a one-off but now students can apply year after year - potentially for up to seven years if they successfully apply from high school onwards. “Education is one of the most effective means of ensuring the cycle of disadvantage does not become intergenerational,” Mr George said.

“We have many families in region doing it tough and these funds will ensure kids are rewarded, no matter what their financial circumstances.”

Applications are open from 16 January 2017 and close on 24 February. Successful applicants will be notified in late May 2017.

Students are encouraged to apply online at www.facs.nsw.gov.au/education

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.