Member for Lismore Thomas George and Minister for Veterans Affairs David Elliott announced the Bonalbo District Memorial Hall and Torrington War Memorial will receive NSW Government funding as part of a proud commitment to honour Australia’s servicemen and women.

The Bonalbo District Memorial Hall will receive over $9,900 for building repair works and repainting, while over $2,300 will be used to undertake a conservation assessment of the WW1 Memorial at Torrington War Memorial.

“It is fitting that as we commemorate the Centenary of Anzac we invest in repairing and looking after local war memorials in honour of those Australian servicemen and women who sacrificed so much for our nation,” Mr Elliott said.

Mr Elliott highlighted the large amount of successful applications coming from regional NSW in the second round of the Community War Memorials Fund.

“It is with great pleasure that I can award these grants to recognise the sacrifice of young Australian soldiers who volunteered from some of the furthest reaches of NSW to serve our country in the Great War.”

The NSW Government has allocated more than $129,000 to fund 26 projects across the state as part of the Community War Memorials Fund.

The Community War Memorials Fund offers grants of up to $10,000 for the protection and conservation of war memorials, including statues, memorial gates, halls and honour rolls.

Mr George welcomed the NSW Government’s commitment to invest in the preservation of some of Lismore’s longest surviving war memorials

“These memorials have significant heritage value and meaning for their communities, with some commemorating conflicts as far back as the Boer War, which ended in 1902,” Mr George said.

“They also represent more than a century of architectural design history in regional NSW.”

The Community War Memorials Fund was set up to fund projects which help protect and conserve existing war memorials across the state.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.