Member for Lismore, Thomas George and Nationals candidate for Lismore, Austin Curtin have announced $10,000 to re-paint Murwillumbah Tennis Club.

Mr George said the club was last painted more than a decade ago and is in much need of freshening up.

“The Murwillumbah Tennis Club is located right in the middle of Murwillumbah and unfortunately some extreme weather has taken its toll on the building, fading the paint and making it look dated.

“While I want to congratulate the club’s committee for its efforts in getting facilities up to a high standard, I also want to pay tribute to club professional Gemma Eaton, whose hard work promoting the game of tennis saw her receive the 2018 Tennis NSW Coaching Excellence Awarded,” Mr George said.

It’s a priority of the Liberals and Nationals in Government to ensure sports facilities across the state are of the highest standard, as a way of encouraging people to be active and improve their health outcomes.

Mr Curtin said updating the clubhouse will encourage more people to take up the sport.

“The Murwillumbah Tennis Club now services more than two hundred members and I want to ensure that growth continues, by providing modern, functioning facilities for juniors and seniors alike.

“In the last month the NSW Government has provided $15,000 to support upgrades at the Murwillumbah Tennis Club and Murwillumbah Croquet Club, both of which were impacted by the March 2017 flood event in Knox Park.

“Sport is an important part of the Murwillumbah community and the Nationals know it is vital people have access to sporting facilities in their communities to improve liveability and provide families with the best possible quality of life,” Mr Curtin said.

PHOTO: Member for Lismore, Thomas George announces funding for Murwillumbah Tennis Club to re-paint its clubhouse.

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email: lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.