Born 1949 at Casino
Married to Deborah
Has three adult sons


St. Mary’s Primary School Casino
Marist Brothers Casino

1966-69    Rural Bank of NSW
1969-71    Stock Station and Real Estate Agent with T&W McCormack
1971-76    Stock Station and Real Estate Agent with Barnes & Clark

    • Established and Managing Director of George & Fuhrmann Pty Ltd Stock & Station and Real Estate Agents

1980-99    Director of the Northern Co-operative Meat Company Ltd
                   Deputy Chairman of the Northern Co-operative Meat Company Ltd
1987-90    President of the Stock & Station Agents Association of NSW

    • Vice-President of the National Body of the Australian Council of Livestock Agents

1992-98    Licensee of the Hotel Cecil Casino

    • Manager of The Oakes Hotel, Lismore

Community Service:

1982-90    Inaugural Chairman & Life Member of Casino Beef Week Promotion Committee
1989          Casino Apex Citizen of the Year and Casino Council’s Australia Day Award Recipient
1989-91    President Casino RSM Rugby League Football Club
1994-99    Director of the Northern Regional Westpac Life Saver Rescue Helicopter
1995-97    Chairman of Liquor Consultative Committee Casino
1997-98    President of Casino Chamber of Commerce & Industry Inc.
1997-99    Representative on Northern Rivers Area Consultative Committee
2006          Director of Our House Cancer Accommodation Lismore
2013          Awarded Life Membership Australian Livestock and Property Association

National Party:
Joined in 1969

Parliamentary Service:

  • Member of Legislative Assembly - Lismore Electorate. 27 March 1999-Present
  • Deputy Nationals Whip. March 2002 to 2003
  • Appointed Temporary Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. May 2007-2011
  • Charter Member & Past President of NSW Parliamentary Lions Club

Nationals Whip March 2003–March 2011

  • Appointed Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly May 2011-Present
  • President, Parliamentary Friends of Lebanon Friendship Group 2011-Present
  • President of Parliamentary Friends of Tourism and Transport Group 2011-Present

Backbench Committees:

  • National Parliamentary Agricultural Committee
  • National Parliamentary Small Business Committee
  • Coalition Advisory Social Development Committee
  • Nationals Spokesperson on Rural Crime
  • Nationals Spokesperson on Energy and Ports in the Lower House

Joint Parliamentary Committees. Member of the:

  • House Committee
  • Victims Compensation Standing Committee
  • STAYSAFE Committee
  • Joint Select Committee on Tobacco Smoking
  • Standing Committee on Natural Resource Management (Climate Change)
  • Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption
  • Legislative Assembly Committee on Environment and Regulation

Electorate Description:

Located within Richmond Tweed Statistical Agricultural Subdivision.
Area: 8,691km²       

Principal centres: City of Lismore and Murwillumbah and towns of, Kyogle, Nimbin, Bonalbo, Woodenbong, Urbenville. Villages of Dunoon, Wiangaree, Grevillia, Old Grevillia, The Channon, Rosebank, Bexhill, Clunes, Federal, Old Bonalbo, Eltham, Legume, Tyalgum, Uki.

Search my site for press releases or news items  by Topic:

Contact Details:

Office: 55 Carrington Street  LISMORE
Postal: PO Box 52  LISMORE  NSW  2480
Telephone: 1800 336 166 or 02 6621 3624
Facsimile: 02 6622 1403  Email:

Authorised by Thomas George MP. Funded using Parliamentary entitlements.